Chris Chester article

Former Oklahoma tight end Chris Chester didn’t make the switch to becoming a full-time member of the offensive line until his senior year. But his athleticism and football smarts helped catapult him into an NFL career as a second-round pick by the Ravens in the 2006 NFL Draft.

A year later, Chester has four pro starts under his belt and 11 game appearances already–a significant achievement for an NFL rookie. And he likes how his first offseason as a Raven has progressed.

“I think it’s been really good. I’ve been able to put on a little weight and get my strength a little bit better,” he said. “Also, it’s been good to have the time to get a better understanding of the mental aspects of the game.”

The Ravens lost OT Tony Pashos and released veteran Ed Mulitalo during the offseason. And there’s been some buzz that center Mike Flynn and left guard Jason Brown could be in for some training camp battles this year. While Chester can play guard, the team will most likely insert him at the center position, possibly this season.

When asked about his prospects for earning a starter’s role this year, the 6-foot-3, 305-pound lineman remained humble while still exuding a quiet confidence.

“We always have a lot of talent at our positions, and I think if I go out there and do my best, whatever’s going to happen will happen,” he said. “But I feel pretty confident that I can provide myself with an opportunity to play a lot.”