Barry Switzer talks to Grantland

Barry Switzer

Barry Switzer

So about a month ago, I got the bright idea to pitch a story featuring Barry Switzer telling old-school recruiting stories. The plan was to have the story run on National Signing Day. I emailed Coach Switzer, never heard anything back from him, and National Signing Day came and went.

No story for me.

But then I got an email two days after Signing Day …

Richard just saw this email! Sorry for my poor response. Would have love to been involved.

Coach

Coach?

Is this some kind of joke? I mean, it was a Hail Mary when I requested an interview with Switzer through his contact page atswitzerfamilyvineyards.com. Was this really the King returning my email? But wait. It had to be Coach Switzer; it was an AOL address.

GAME ON.

Signing Day had passed. I had no idea what the hell we were going to talk about. Then I realized we weren’t going to talk about anything. He was going to talk, and I was going to listen to one of the greatest football storytellers alive. And for 32 minutes and 42 seconds, that’s what happened.

How it was recruiting Marcus Dupree? .. READ MORE

Leave a Reply

