Ronnell Lewis finds a new home with the Oklahoma Defenders

Ronnell-Lewis Oklahoma Defenders
Former Oklahoma star Ronnell Lewis’ life has abruptly changed over the past year.
Lewis was arrested twice in a six-month span for disturbing the peace/public intoxication (April 2013) and suspension of DUI (September 2013).

His professional life suffered. A 2012 fourth-round draft pick by the Detroit Lions, he was cut last August after playing one season. A future four-week stay in the Canadian Football League evaporated.
Lewis had reasons to be discouraged. Many of his problems were self-inflicted. But the Dewar native with big dreams continues to strive for a return to the NFL.
During the past few months, the former OU star and Detroit Lion has played for the Oklahoma Defenders, a member of the Champions Professional Indoor Football League. The team will play its final home game on Saturday against the Salina Bombers at 7 p.m at the Cox Business Center.
“I’ve done some things wrong off the field that I am very sorry for,” Lewis said following a recent Defenders practice. “Hopefully my family and fans can forgive me. I’m ready to turn my life around and give it another shot.
“I’ve paid some consequences and learned from it,” Lewis added. “I’m leading a straight and narrow path and want to let everyone realize I’m not a bad guy. Yes, I’ve made mistakes. But they are behind me.”
So how did an NFL fourth-round draft pick who was paid a $397,000 signing bonus wind up playing in a indoor league where the average salary is about $200 per game? Read More

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.