Stoops on First Take

“I appreciate you bringing it up, Stephen A. I have to be honest, it felt good. Because I know everybody’s screen savers, everybody had their notes down, everybody was ready to jump on us, on me in particular, what I had to say, if it had gone the other way. That all had to be deleted. I was a little validated in what I had to say. I still believe in what I said.
“At the end of the day we can play with anybody. That was fairly evident.”
On taking pleasure, part 2:
“I heard from more Texas high school coaches, on how pleased they were on how that all went. We go down there through Texas recruiting. I was surprised at how many Texas high school coaches pulled me aside because they felt validated. Because half of our roster or more is from Texas. We’ve got good football players, too.”
On taking a chance by adding Dorial Green-Beckham:
“All situations are well-thought out. We had a lot of conversations with Missouri personnel and our people. What do you believe in the young man? I believe in the young man as an individual, as a person.
“We deal with guys on our team, on other teams, that are going to make some mistakes. That’s part of the maturing process. Some are so egregious you have to part ways. Others, you feel that you can work with them. And I believe in Dorial, the person that he is and what he can be.
“I’m not one to ever cast away young people. To me that’s part of the job, to help them mature and grow in the right ways, to be great citizens. I believe in Dorial, that he has an opportunity to do that. We believe in second chances.”
On whether Missouri overreacted by dismissing DGB:
“I’m not saying that at all, because we have dismissed players multimple times through the years. Every situation is a little bit different. Sometimes you’re able to work with the young man and feel the potential is there to move forward and sometimes you’re not.”
On Bob Bowlsby’s assertion that cheating pays in this era of broken enforcement:
“I believe that anyone that’s intentionally skirting the rules and cheating or doing things the wrong way needs to pay for it and needs to be penalized for it. I can’t speak to what Commissioner Bowlsby had to say, or what specifics he may have. But I do believe in a fair game.”
On the days of OU football dominance of OKC’s talk radio market being over thanks to the Thunder:
“I feel relieved. It isn’t just us they’re talking about all the time, and picking on us.”
On Bayless’ assertion that he’ll rip Stoops “only if they lose to Texas”:
“Or anybody else.”Bob Stoops

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.