Texas boots RB Joe Bergeron, two others (team rules violations)

Joe-Bergeron-Dismissed

The Texas roster continues to thin this week. Just hours after wide receivers Kendall Sanders and Montrel Meander were indefinitely suspended as a result of a sexual assault charge, reports began surfacing that defensive back Chevoski Collins and running back Jalen Overstreet had been dismissed for a violation of team rules.

On Friday, the Austin American-Statesman confirmed not only that Collins and Overstreet were dismissed, but that senior running back Joe Bergeron was also dismissed for a team rules violation.

Texas coach Charlie Strong said earlier in the week that Bergeron was “back in the mix” after taking time away from football in the spring to focus on academics. Bergeron has totaled 20 touchdowns in the last two seasons, dominating as a short-yardage back in 2012 and contributing to the rotation last season.

At Big 12 media days, Texas cornerback Quandre Diggs described a “new Texas” that is taking shape under the direction of Strong’s staff. Diggs went as far to say he supported the approach of removing players who weren’t all in with the new direction.

“I want to weed guys out. That’s just me,” Diggs said via ESPN.com. “I’m an up-front person. All my teammates know me. I’m going to tell you how I feel. I’m not going to jab at anything. I’m going to take an uppercut, take the hardest swing I can take, and I’ll try to knock you out.

“I don’t sugarcoat anything just like [Strong’s coaches] don’t sugarcoat anything. That’s just how I am, how I was born, how I was raised. I love the way they’re taking the approach of getting guys out of here that don’t belong.”

Bergeron’s absence makes Johnathan Gray’s recovery even more important. Gray ran for 780 yards and four touchdowns on 159 carries before missing the season’s last four games with an achilles injury. Per colleague Jeremy Fowler, Gray has been medically cleared to resume workouts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.