Fresh man Dvoracek ready to compete

The beginning of the voluntary offseason program April 10 is the end of vacation for some players. For defensive tackle Dusty Dvoracek, it’s a chance to get back to business. He had his rookie season wiped out by surgery on his right foot. The year away has kept his body fresh, and he has a new image, too, having gone for a major trim as teammate Tommie Harris helped him cut 10 inches of hair off the back of his head recently. Dvoracek donated the hair to Locks of Love, a non-profit group that provides hairpieces to children with long-term medical hair loss.

Now he’s looking forward to making his mark on the field, where there will be competition to fill in for Tank Johnson while he’s suspended. Anthony Adams was picked up in free agency, and Dvoracek figures to at least play a part in a rotation.

”Coach [Lovie] Smith told me every week, ‘You’re not going to be a rookie next year,”’ said Dvoracek, a third-round pick from Oklahoma. ”I’d have to go to meetings and I did everything with the team to get my rookie year out of the way, and it helped me a lot. I learned a lot of things, and I’ll be ready to go.”

